A Piece Here, A Piece There…

Sometimes the writing community can drive you nuts. Many of the different sites and groups want a writer to take a survey, read a blog, Help another writer get started and assume you are intelligent and won’t lead them down a rosy path.

“Here are some great articles on how to sell your book,” or “You’ve got to enter this contest and win someone else’s book.” I think someone missed the point. As for me, I tend to write ‘cuz that’s what I started out doing. I’m not much of a reader because I’m usually writing and don’t have enough hours in a day to do both very often.

When I read, it is generally research surrounding stories I am working on. When I write I try to use that research to make a fictional scenario believable, especially to a tribe I highlight. That doesn’t leave much time for recreational ventures into the book world. It’s not unusual to take me a month or two to make it through a whole book.

God bless the Storytellers that used to sit at the campfire. I think they had it right for centuries while we modern types slave over sentence structure, point of view consistency and marketing. My friends who listen to audio books might agree!

Leave a Reply

